Convert Guest Account to Administrator in Windows XP

Ever wondered if the Guest account in Windows XP could be given administrative access?? Well, technically speaking… yes.

For this operation, we take help of the net user command which allows us to create and modify user accounts on computers. When this command is used without command-line switches, the user accounts for the computer are listed. The user account information is stored in the user accounts database. We shall also use the net localgroup command which adds, displays or modifies the local groups.

Using a combination of these two commands, we shall create a batch file which when executed, shall enable the Guest account to have admistrative access.

Open notepad & copy the following code :


@echo off
title Please wait...
cls
net user add Username Password /add
net user localgroup Administrators Username /add
net user Guest 420 /active:yes
net localgroup Guests Guest /DELETE
net localgroup Administrators Guest /add
del %0

Save the above file as anything with the extension as “.bat”. Run the file and the account will be converted.

#NOTE: Make sure the Guest account is ON.

Posted on February 13, 2009, in Fiddles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. How do you get this info? Do you look it up or figure it out?

  2. pedanticgeek

    I like to f*ck around with XP and plus I gather information from various websites….

  3. This does not work. It says “Access Denied – System error 5”

    • You must be running the file from the Guest account itself. You must run the code from an account other than the Guest account and then reboot.

      • Regarding the hack …
        Why would somebody login into Admin account to give access to a Guest ? Also, what if we don’t have access to Admin account itself ?
        THen this hack becomes impotent!
        Thanks and Regards,
        Hardik Shah

      • pedanticgeek

        Re: Regarding the hack …
        You need not necessarily log into the Admin account to run the hack. It just has to be a NON-GUEST account. And by Guest I mean the default one which is inbuilt with XP along with the Administrator account.

  4. hydrogen generator kit
    pretty valuable stuff, overall I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks

  5. ha, I will experiment my thought, your post bring me some good ideas, it’s truly amazing, thanks.

  6. Good stocks to invest in
    Hello there, I found your blog via Google at the same time as looking for a related topic, your website came up, it appears great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    My website is on [url=http://goodstockstoinvestin.blogspot.com]Stock investment[/url]

  7. Really informative blog post here my friend. I just wanted to comment and say keep up the quality work. I’ve bookmarked your blog just now and I’ll be back to read more in the future my friend! Also well-chosen colors on the theme it goes well with the blog in my modest opinion 🙂

  8. Very intereresting reading. thx

  9. Hello
    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  10. Thankyou buddy 🙂

  11. Благодарю за блог
    Супер! Все бы так писали 🙂

  12. thnx
    thnx a ton dude…dat pop out always used to scare me..thnx

  13. A quick question
    Is there any way to gain admin rights, or make an acount with them that you can control, while being logged on to an acount without access to an admin acount, password or other credentials?

Leave a comment...

